THROWING JAVELINS FOR THE FIRST TIME, 9 MONTHS POST OP

OH MY GOLLY. Today was the day. I had tried to contain my excitement whilst I was massaging….but I am sure many people have listened to me hyping on about it throughout throwing, not just today, but the past couple of weeks!! πŸ˜€ SO off I trotted across the track, javelins in hand. I had missed the feel of my trusty Calypso and Randal (favourite javelins). It was a beautiful day for throwing!

Me throwing standing

I was really hesitant to begin with….it was slightly surreal! My first throw…….TEARS EVERYWHERE. I fell to my knees crying with happiness – I couldn’t believe it. My first throw in just under a year; it was finally here. πŸ™‚ It took me a little while to compose myself again to carry on throwing! I wish I had it on camera haha!

I started with just a few standing throws, taking the javelin for a walk up and down the field. It felt so light in my hand! I moved on to 3 and 5 strides, getting a little more momentum into the javelin. It didn’t hurt to throw at all….but I was scared, tentative. I knew it would definitely take time – I just have to accept that everyone always has to start somewhere! It can only go up from here. I was throwing about 20m – I didn’t want to push it. I was fighting the tears throughout the session haha, had a little cry after as well. Blooming hec so emotional! Today has been a good day πŸ˜€

Throwing action shot

A HUGE THANK YOU TO MY SAVIOUR PROFESSOR LENNARD FUNK, MY AMAZING SURGEON; MY PHYSIO AT BRIDGEWATER HOSPITAL, MY PHYSIO HERE AT LOUGHBOROUGH UNI PHIL EVANS WHO HAS DONE A FABULOUS JOB FOR THE LAST 9 MONTHS AND MY COACH WHO HAS HELPED ME THROUGH THE UPS AND DOWNS.

I cannot thank you enough πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

